Healthy lifestyle progress, go team go!

I figured it was time for a little update on our progress with our new healthy lifestyle. Surprisingly enough, it hasn’t been bad at all. In fact, it’s been pretty awesome! I can’t begin to stress how nice it is to have a partner doing this with, that of course being Matt. It makes it ten times easier to make the right choices when you have a partner doing the same thing that you are. You remind each other why you’re doing it and push the other person to keep going.

Food-wise it’s been pretty awesome. We’ve both added way more fruits and vegetables to our diet. Also exploring the world of egg whites, fiber, fish, spinach, and eating lots of good soup. I’ve learned to really enjoy a good broth (I used to despise broth). We both keep an eye on the calories we’ve consumed, and though it’s more work to sometimes have to plan everything out, it’s really not that bad and we’ve both gotten pretty used to it. I think sometimes it’s a little harder for Matt since he can consume more calories than I can (darn these men and they’re crazy metabolism!), so sometimes he struggles with making sure he’s eating enough calories throughout the day, but he’s gotten much better about it.

I also really enjoy that we both allow ourselves to have one cheat meal on the weekends. It’s not like we go nuts or anything and consume 8 burgers in one sitting (okay that kind of just grossed me out), but to be able to enjoy something a little less healthy just once a week is pretty nice. I’ve also made an effort to eat slower (though Matt always have given me shit for being such a slow eater), to really enjoy my meal and allow my body to realize when it is full. When I eat too fast, I eat too much and then am at the miserably full point… that’s not much fun and I feel terrible.

Oh and I’m proud to say outside of my coffee in the morning (which I’ve changed drastically to an iced drip coffee with nonfat and a Sweet ‘n low), I have not consumed any diet soda or any sugary drinks since we decided to start eating healthier. It’s been all water for me. This is a pretty big feat for me as I got used to having my afternoon Diet Coke to keep me going when I hit that afternoon lull at work. So hooray for water, which I’ve really come to enjoy, honestly.

The other big change I’ve made is eating something every few hours to keep my metabolism going. Usually I’ll have a spinach and feta egg white wrap from Starbucks, or yogurt fruit and granola, or oatmeal, etc. for breakfast, then sneak in a little snack if I start to feel hungry before lunch, like light mozzarella string cheese, or a hard-boiled egg. Then lunch comes, then another snack later on (apple, pear, yogurt), then dinner, then some sort of snack (I usually sneak in some chocolate as a nightly treat because let’s be honest, sometimes a girl’s just gotta have her chocolate.)

I’ve gotten myself to be more open to new flavors and to try new healthier foods. We make way more trips to the grocery store during the week for fresh foods. It’s pretty liberating to feel free from making terrible decisions when it comes to food, to no longer feel guilty about what we’re eating. I know it’s only 2 weeks in (and perhaps we’re still in the honeymoon stage of eating healthier), but I’m really enjoying this change. It’s improved my self-esteem, attitude and positivity outside of work and generally is making me a happier person.

So here’s to continuing with these changes and to a positive future for us. 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Adulthood, Getting healthy, Marriage, Weight Loss

2 responses to “Healthy lifestyle progress, go team go!

  1. Meaghan

    I love snacking on home made trail mix! I definitely need snacks throughout the day haha

    • YES, I love trail mix! I usually grab a little handful when I get home from work as a quick snack before dinner if I’m hungry. I should make some homemade mix though! Snacks through the day totally keep the metabolism running, that’s for sure. 🙂

Leave a Reply

