Recipe Corner: Turkey Chowder!

I looked over the poll results from my last post and am definitely taking everything in to consideration. I was surprised at how many people wanted to hear about healthy recipes, so I will post them whenever I’ve made something new for you to check out!

Definitely expect to see more of those around here, but still mixed in with other posts about weight loss, healthier lifestyle, and photos from some of my weekends. I’ll be working on a weekend review post in a bit (more likely posted tomorrow morning), but here’s a great recipe I literally just made.

This weekend I went cooking-crazy! I was determined to have some healthy but really tasty food. We ended up making diet soda chocolate peanut butter cake, honey-mustard boneless pork chops, homemade onion rings, and then today I made us turkey chowder in our slow cooker. Yeah, you could say I spent a good amount of my weekend cooking, but oh man was it worth it.

While I DO plan on posting all of these recipes throughout this week, I wanted to post the turkey chowder recipe that I just ate right now. It was filling and tasty and pretty darn easy to make. In fact, there’s really only one step to the whole thing, but you do need to have a slow cooker (or at least it makes it way easier.)

Turkey Chowder
Serves 8

Ingredients:
4 slices turkey bacon, crisp cooked and chopped
1 pound turkey breast cutlets, cut into 1/2-inch pieces
1 baking potato, peeled and diced
2 carrots, diced
1 onion, chopped
1 celery stalk, diced
2 (10 3/4 oz.) cans of low-fat condensed cream of mushroom soup
2 cups reduced-sodium chicken broth
1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
1/2 teaspoon dried sage

Chopping up the ingredients is pretty much the most difficult part of this whole thing. It takes you a little bit but really isn’t that bad. But then it makes a pretty pile of ingredients!

I put the condensed soup and broth in the slow cooker first, but it doesn’t really matter how you put it in or in what order. It looks pretty gross at first.

Dump in the rest of the ingredients from your cutting board, then give it a good stir to make it not look so gross. Put on the cover, set your slow cooker to low, and then just… wait for 8-10 hours on low (or 4-5 on high).

Oh! I was worried at first that I was supposed to have cooked the turkey prior to putting it in the soup, but no, it totally got cooked over the 8 hours. You CAN cook the turkey beforehand if you’d like, but it’s not really necessary.

Go play or something for awhile, then come back, turn off your slow cooker (if the veggies and chicken are tender), and take the pot out, letting the soup cool off a bit. It will look a bit watery/not chowder-y, but if you let it sit for around 15-20 minutes, it definitely thickens up.

It’s not the prettiest thing you’ll ever make, but it’s really really tasty! There are, however, a few things I would change for next time.

I would wait to put the turkey bacon in after as a lot of its taste got taken away by the soup. It’d be a great way to make it a little less bland.

I would also probably add some other spices, like maybe some red pepper for a little kick or smoked paprika. The potatoes took over the soup a little bit, but I’m not complaining about that.

Outside of that though, it honestly was really good and extremely filling and I highly suggest it as a quick and easy meal that will make your home smell amazing, is filling, and isn’t crazy high-calorie.

Oh speaking of which, one serving (which is 1 Cup), yields 161 calories, 4g Total Fat, 2g Sat Fat, 0g Trans Fat, 46mg Chol, 14g carb, 2g Fiber, and 17g of Protein. 2 servings for dinner is MORE than enough, and only puts you at 320 calories for a hearty meal.

We ate it for dinner tonight and now have plenty of leftovers for lunch (only for me since Matt’s in NYC for the week, wompwomp). If you decide to make this soup, let me know what you think and if you decided to tweak anything. I’m interested to see what people come up with!

2 Comments

Filed under Healthy cooking, Recipes

2 responses to “Recipe Corner: Turkey Chowder!

  1. Pingback: Goodbyes, Gods, and Gourmet | A Weighty Mix

  2. Pingback: What am I eating? Lunch edition | A Weighty Mix

Leave a Reply

