Recipe Corner: Peanut Butter Chip Coconut Cookies

Okay, this is a recipe I’m pretty excited about. I was trying to find a good recipe for chocolate chip cookies, and found one here. I was sold at the cookies only having around 61 calories, and not being made with Splenda, so I knew I should give them a shot.

After making my usual Sunday morning trip to the neighborhood QFC, I got to the car and realized, “Crap, I totally forgot to get chocolate chips.” I think I got sidetracked by all of the good deals on stuff (I’m a ridiculous bargain shopper). Anyway, I didn’t feel like going back inside because it was pouring out, and remembered I had peanut butter chips and coconut shavings at home.

An idea was born. “I wonder if peanut butter chips and coconut would be good together?” So I tried both of them together and man, peanut butter and coconut is quite delightful together. So I basically modified the recipe from that site, and came up with my own version.

Ingredients (Recipe makes 24 cookies)

1/2 cup of flour
1/2 cup of whole wheat flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup butter or margarine (I used unsalted butter), softened/melted
1 egg white
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 cup peanut butter chips
1/4 cup coconut flakes (I used sweetened)

1. Preheat the oven to 350. Take the flour, baking soda, and salt and mix those together in one bowl.

2. Take the sugar, brown sugar, butter, egg white, and vanilla extract, and whisk those in a separate bowl. I used our Kitchenaid mixer, and gave it a good whisk until it was creamy.

3. Add in the flour mixture to your wet mixture, but slowly. If you find that your batter is too chunky/dry, a little splash of water will help (but don’t put in too much!)

4. Mix in the peanut butter chips and coconut flakes with your batter. You could also add chocolate chips in with this, though it would obviously make the calories in your cookies go up, or you could do 1/8 cup chocolate chips and 1/8 cup peanut butter chips (which I might try next time!)

5. Take little spoonfuls and put them onto your baking sheet. I personally use my cookie sheets, but for extra caution and less clean up, used parchment paper so the cookies wouldn’t stick. Parchment paper is seriously your BFF when baking cookies, no joke.

6. Put them in the oven for around 10-12 minutes. I’m wondering if I tinker with the oven temp, bringing it down to 325, if that will make the cookies less flat. Probably not though, I’m thinking they just need more flour but I’d rather have a flat chewy cookie for 68 calories than a big fluffy one for way more.

7. Let them cool off, then voila, you have some delicious cookies.

I went and calculated every ingredient I used in this recipe, to ensure I had the proper calories, fat, protein, etc. for each cookie. One cookie is 68 calories, 3g fat, 11.5g carbs, 1g protein.

For how these taste, and how big they end up being, I’d say this is a pretty awesome success honestly. Let me know if you try these out and if you make any adjustments, because I would love to hear what everyone is trying. 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Getting healthy, Healthy cooking, Recipes

One response to “Recipe Corner: Peanut Butter Chip Coconut Cookies

  1. Pingback: ABCs of the weekend: Apple, Bridesmaids, and Cookies | A Weighty Mix

Leave a Reply

