Recipe corner: Low-cal Mahi Mahi Fish Tacos

Lemme just start in saying that I heart fish tacos. I love the fresh taste, the seasoning, the crunch of the cabbage/slaw… Fish tacos hold a dear place in my heart. However, most fish tacos at restaurants are not so good for you. We bought some Mahi Mahi from Costco and I knew I had to try to find a way to make delicious fish tacos that weren’t going to be super high calorie.

Okay guys and gals, this recipe? This recipe is seriously so good I have have HAVE to share it with you. Mainly because it tastes WONDERFUL, they take like no time to make, and also because you can technically have a fish taco for 200 calories. And a big one at that! Now me personally, I like to add a few little extras, so it pushed mine up to 260-280 but um, hello, 270 calories for a totally bombdotcom fish taco? Yeah, sign me up.

Matt was a huge fan of these, and I’m pretty sure I will be making these at least once a week, if not more, because of how easy and quick it is to make them.

Ingredients (Makes 4 big tacos)
14-16 oz. of Mahi Mahi (though I’m sure you could get away with cod or halibut here, I just thoroughly enjoy Mahi Mahi. Your best bet is if you live near Costco, buy the frozen Kirkland Signature Mahi Mahi. It’s 16 bucks for a huge bag of fillets and 95 calories for 4 oz. of fish.)
1 package of fish taco seasoning (I personally bought a brand called “Simply Organic” fish taco seasoning, though I’m pretty sure there are other brands that make fish taco seasoning. In any case, it’s all found in the aisle at your grocery store with the other taco seasonings, etc. An entire package is 100 calories. so 25 calories per taco.)
1 package of Coleslaw (Okay, don’t buy ACTUAL coleslaw with the mayo and ugh all that crap in it, but in the area where there’s packaged lettuce, etc., there should be bags of coleslaw, with shredded cabbage, carrots, etc.)
4 La Tortilla Factory High fiber, Low carb Tortillas (We buy them from Costco in massive bulks of 20 because we go through them so quickly, they’re I believe the 8-inch ones and are 80 calories per tortilla. I’m sure you could do corn tortillas here, but just be aware that this will obviously change the number of calories.)
1 container of pico de gallo (or you can make your own, but when I’m trying to make a quick meal, I just buy freshly made pico de gallo. I know Trader Joe’s has an amazing pico de gallo for cheap!)
1 lime (I used lime juice from a container which worked just as well and I don’t have to worry about wasting any.)
Fresh cilantro (This adds such an awesome flavor, I am a little bit obsessed with cilantro and so I put a ton of it on my taco.)

Optional ingredients:
1 container of Mexican Sour Cream (I put one tbsp. on my taco for 30 calories and it added such good tang to the fish, I highly suggest it!)
1 avocado (I mashed this up with stuff I had around the house, like a little lime juice, garlic powder, onion powder, salsa, salt and pepper, and it made kind of a guacamole. I’m sure you could get away with just salt and pepper if you really wanted to.. I only used one half of the avocado, and put maybe a tbsp of it on my taco for around 50 calories.)

1. Making sure your Mahi Mahi or other fish is thawed, cut the fish up into 1/2 inch strips. Not too thin but not too thick so when you cook them in the pan they don’t get overcooked.

2. Take your fish taco seasoning (this part may SUPER vary depending on what the package says, but for this is specifically for the fish taco seasoning I bought), mix it with 1/4 cup of water in a bowl, making sure it’s completely mixed well, creating a marinade.

3. Place your strips of fish into a large Ziploc bag, and coat the fish in a little vegetable oil (maybe 1 tbsp.) This will help the marinade stick to the fish.

4. Dump your marinade into the bag with the fish, and shake it around to ensure that all of the marinade gets on every piece of fish. You can let it sit for 5 minutes or if you have all the time in the world, 5 hours. I was in a rush so I let it sit for 5 minutes while I waited for the pan to heat up.

5. Speaking of which, pre-heat your stove to medium to medium-high, and put a nonstick skillet/pan on. I’d suggest putting a little nonstick spray on for extra measure, because the marinade will definitely stick a bit to the pan.

6. Put your fish in the pan and cook it for around 3 minutes per side. You’ll know your fish is done when it’s flaky, white on the inside (pink is bad!), and firm. Some of the smaller pieces started to kind of flake a little when I moved them around, so I had an idea they were done. Oh and I used tongs to flip the fish, as I found it much easier than using something like a spatula since you’re dealing with a bunch of strips of fish.

7. Once done, place the fish on a serving plate. It should smell absolutely divine and you may want to even try to just eat the fish on its own. But don’t, because once you put them on your tortilla with everything else, you’ll be quite happy you waited.

8. I personally heated up my tortilla in the micro for 15 seconds, because I like warm tortillas (though Matt likes his cold, so either way is fine).

9. Put on your toppings! I personally put on the sour cream first, then the fish, a squeeze of lime juice, then the avocado mix, the slaw, lots of cilantro, and topped it off with pico de gallo. This made a ginormous taco, so I knew I’d be having the other half of my fish for dinner the following night.

10. EAT UP! I doubt you’ll be disappointed.

If you eat your taco like Matt, with just a tortilla, fish, slaw and pico de gallo, you’ll be at around 190 calories. (We only did 14 oz. of fish, so each portion was 85 calories, plus the tortilla for 80, and 25 for the seasoning, so that’s where the 190 comes from!)

If you’re like me and like a little extra fun toppings, you’ll be looking at around 270 calories, as we’re adding in 30 cals of sour cream and 50 calories of avocado. Between the amazingly high fiber, high protein tortillas, the high protein fish (4oz. of Mahi Mahi has 21g of protein!), and the delicious toppings (I pile on the slaw because I LOVE the fresh crunch it gives the taco), you feel totally full and you feel like you got to eat really great food but without all the extra calories attached.

This recipe is more my own thing I created on a whim, so feel free to mess around with it. I might add jalapenos next time (I totally forgot to buy them) for an extra kick, but you can really vary this one up.

I love tacos because you can put so many toppings on that are zero calories and add great flavor and texture to your meal!

6 Comments

Filed under Getting healthy, Healthy cooking, Recipes

6 responses to “Recipe corner: Low-cal Mahi Mahi Fish Tacos

  1. Meaghan

    oh my god these look so good 😀

  2. Liz

    Can’t wait to try this recipe, Danielle! I love sour cream on my tacos and a good substitute when you want to use less calories is plain Greek yogurt. Same tangy taste with less calories. I use it wherever I would use sour cream.

    Keep the great recipes coming!

    • I’ve been meaning to give the plain greek yogurt a try! I’ve now heard from a few people that it’s a wonderful substitute for sour cream. I think next time I make these I’m going to give it a shot.

      Thanks, Liz! 🙂

  3. Becca

    Love fish tacos! Totally second the mahi mahi choice. We found a recipe for them in Men’s Health but this one looks really good so might try this next time around. Thanks for sharing! I’m also a big sour cream fan but have started using plain greek yogurt as a lower cal alternative. Sounds weird but actually gives you the same taste and consistency when you use it on tacos.

    • Haha, this is too funny, the comment above from Liz literally has the same suggestion on the yogurt! I’m now up to at least 3 people who have suggested this to me, so I’m pretty sure there’s no way to NOT try it.

      I think I was against it because greek yogurt + tacos seems so weird, but I can totally see how it would work. I’m all about trying new things, so this will be one of them!

Leave a Reply

