Wedding Deets: Where the Wild Things Are

So I’ve been thinking about weddings lately, with knowing so many friends who are getting married in the very near future or just got engaged… and then start thinking about how ours was, and how we’ll be celebrating our 1 year anniversary in a few months… Anyway, that being said, I thought it might be kind of neat to have a few posts here and there on special details from our wedding, even some DIY projects (like our origami fortune teller place cards for everyone), advice, etc… I’m pretty proud of our wedding and some of the details that I want to share.

The one thing that stuck out to me recently was how I remember wishing I had a blog because I so badly wanted to show off the sneakers we wore for our actual ceremony, the story behind them, photos, etc. These sneakers are the kind of sneakers you want to show off to the whole world because of how amazing they are, so they’re getting their very own post, months later.

I should start off by saying that both Matt and I love the book Where the Wild Things Are. Matt grew up in love with it, especially the character Bernard. I fell in love with the book, planning to read it to our future children, and also with Maurice Sendak’s style in general. In fact, we made it a point to go see the Pacific Northwest Ballet’s version of The Nutcracker, because the entire set was designed by Maurice Sendak. It’s the best version of The Nutcracker ever, and you can only see it in Seattle. My favorite is the Chinese tiger:

(Photos found on Google image search, so no, they’re not mine!)

We of course saw the movie in theaters, and also own it on DVD, and both absolutely adored it. So you get it, we’re big fans.

Fast forward to our rehearsal dinner, the night before our wedding. We are each given a box from Matt’s mom, Sue, and she told us to open them in front of everyone. Having no idea what was inside, as soon as I saw the sneakers I gasped, and started to cry. Sue had created custom-painted Where the Wild Things Chuck Taylors for us. (The entire wedding party was to wear Chucks for the wedding, we both planned on just wearing the plain black ones.)

Each individual sneaker was different, as she re-created scenes from our favorite children’s book onto the sneakers, along with our wedding date and even our wedding logo. I was so taken aback by this kind gesture, as people ooh-ed and aah-ed at them, and hearing about how the sneakers took Sue months upon months to create. She is a wonderful artist and loving mother and for her to surprise us like this just overwhelmed me and had me in tears.

Mine were laced with ribbon, which was such a cute idea.

Bernard made an appearance on Matt’s pair. 🙂

Both of our pairs had the same back/inside designs, including our wedding date and wedding logo:

We wore the sneakers for the ceremony only, mainly because I was scared crapless of ruining them since it was raining outside, and I really didn’t want to crack the paint because of how they were really a piece of artwork.

The shoes now sit in our bedroom, Matt’s pair on his side and mine on my side of the room. Every time I see them they remind me of such a beautiful day but also the love and thought that was put into each sneaker.

I think it’s safe to say that we own some of the coolest wedding sneakers ever.

1 Comment

Filed under Crafts, Family, Wedding

One response to “Wedding Deets: Where the Wild Things Are

  1. This just made me cry at work. I mean, I know I was there and saw the whole thing go down at the rehearsal dinner but just thinking about special these were to you guys. I’m just happy and weepy all over again! 🙂

Leave a Reply

