Recipe Corner: Quick and Easy Buffalo Chicken Wrap

(I know this photo has romaine lettuce in it, which you can totally use, but I prefer using a cabbage/slaw mix, listed in the ingredients below).

So buffalo chicken wraps are one of those things that I love. I love the heat from the sauce, the creamy blue cheese, the cheddar cheese mixed in… But man, they can be so high calorie between the blue cheese dressing and the cheddar cheese.

I really didn’t want to give up my buffalo chicken and came up with a really quick, easy, delicious, filling and low-calorie wrap that you can have for dinner or lunch and be pretty pumped that it came under 300 calories.

Ingredients (serves one)

1 La Tortilla Factory High Fiber Low-carb Tortilla (80 calories, get ’em as Costco in packs of 20, use them for everything!)
1 serving of grilled chicken strips (I buy these at the grocery store in bags, though you could definitely cook your own chicken for this, if used from the bag they’re 100 calories per serving)
Frank’s Buffalo sauce (Zero calories and awesome! I don’t measure how much I put in the bowl with the chicken, usually keep an eye on it and put in enough to coat the chicken, but feel free to put in as much or as little as your heart desires.)
2 tbsp of Marie’s Lite Chunky Bleu Cheese dressing (BEST. THING. EVER. 70 calories for 2 tbsp of bleu cheese dressing that you would never know is light/lower-calorie. You can find this in the salad section of the grocery store, with all the refrigerated dressings)
Fresh cole slaw (Again, not the creamy stuff, but the cabbage/carrot mix, also found in the salad section. I put on a lot because I love how the bleu cheese and slaw taste together, but again put on as much or as little as you want!)
1/4 cup of Kraft fat free shredded cheddar cheese (45 calories, and adds a nice cheesy flavor to your wrap. You can skip this if you want, but I enjoy a little cheese on my wrap!)

1. Mix the chicken and buffalo sauce together in a bowl, or a bag if you choose. I use a bowl to do this, then put it on the tortilla once it’s nice and coated!

2. Put the cole slaw in the bowl, and put the 2 tbsp of bleu cheese dressing in with it. Mix this up real good, getting the bleu cheese all mixed with the slaw, then put it on top of the chicken.

3. Put your shredded cheese on top. Fold it up and EAT.

I told you it was quick and easy. This is one of my absolutely favorite go-to meals when I want something low-cal and tasty and filling. Between the tortilla, the chicken, and the cabbage, you will be totally full after eating this and happy it was under 300 cals. Matt is also a huge fan, so it’s a great easy recipe to have between the both of us.

This comes in at 295 calories, 36g of protein, and 12g of fiber. Pretty awesome little meal full of great protein, fiber and it’s extremely filling! Enjoy. 🙂

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Healthy cooking, Recipes

Leave a Reply

