Bittersweet…

This weekend was one of those weekends that was so bittersweet, I look back and recognized a roller coaster of emotions.

Friday we came home from work and took it pretty easy, as I wasn’t feel 100% due to stomach issues. Thankfully I’m off the Vicodin and only have a few more days of the antibiotics, so hopefully those issues stay far, far away. Matt got some exciting news, but otherwise it was a pretty quiet night.

Saturday we woke up early to a beautiful day, and headed out to get some breakfast and to run errands. But before all of that, we did our weekly weigh-in, which I know I’d mentioned in a post this past week that I did not expect to lose very much.. Matt went first, and announced he’d lost 4.3 pounds. I screamed in delight, because this marked Matt hitting a 50 pound weight loss! He’s down 52 pounds, and I could not be more proud of him. He looks amazing (and hot!) and I can tell how much more confidence he’s gained in himself already.

After Matt went downstairs, I nervously made my way over to the scale, hoping for even just a loss of a pound. To my absolute surprise and delight, I looked down and had lost 4.8 pounds! I hit the 40 pound mark that I’ve been so close to hitting for a few weeks now, surpassing it by hitting 42. I’m not going to lie, I’m pretty damn proud of myself. I know I say that practically every week with a loss, but to be losing more weight than I ever have in my life is an amazing feeling. I feel more confident, I feel like this is finally it, I’m finally doing what I’ve struggled to do for so many years. I’ve got a remarkably long road to go, but to be where we are after 3 months is an amazing feeling. 94 pounds we’ve lost overall. I feel great.

We got ourselves out the door and ran errands in the sun, grabbing breakfast at Starbucks, then stopping by Target, Bath and Body Works, then roaming the Kent Farmer’s Market/Kent Cornucopia Days. It’s this huge market of vendors with flowers and honey and food and music and everything. We picked up some apple honey and blackberry honey, each got a Fisher scone (THE best scones with amazing raspberry preserves), then headed up to Issaquah to Trader Joe’s.

After stocking up on my favorite Tomato Basil hummus Matt’s seaweed snacks (ugh they’re so gross), among other things, we stopped by Matt’s parents’ house for a bit to catch up on things, play with their goofy dogs and ended up staying there for awhile.

After getting home, I snuck in some cleaning out of the pool and shocking it, getting it ready for some really hot days (if we ever see them)… After finally sitting down, everything came to a screeching halt… We found out through the news that our friend Cara’s boyfriend, Ryan, passed away in a hydroplane accident. As soon as I heard his name I felt like I was going to throw up. I didn’t know what to do; neither did Matt. We both just sat in shock and were so upset by this, not only at the loss of Ryan, who we felt like we were starting to get to know more and more and also considered a friend, but our hearts also broke for Cara.

It’s something that is still heavy on my mind today, as I can’t even imagine what Cara is going through. To lose your partner, your best friend… It left me speechless. I won’t go on about it, but it is one of those moments that you wish you could do something to fix it, but there isn’t anything anyone can do and you just grieve instead. I’ve tried keeping myself busy and distracted, but my thoughts seem to make their way back to thinking about Cara and Ryan. I’m absolutely heartbroken for Cara, and I know that Ryan is going to be sorely missed by a lot of people, including us.

I don’t really know why these things happen, and I don’t think I ever will. Our Sunday was a relatively quiet one, with breakfast in the morning with my sister-in-law Carrie, running a few errands and doing our usual Sunday chores… But most of the day Matt and I had quiet moments as I think both of our minds and our hearts were really with our friends with such a terrible tragedy.

It was a bittersweet weekend, with some ups and absolute heartbreak, and I just ask that if you read this, and even if you don’t know them, if you wouldn’t mind sending a few thoughts and prayers to our friends Cara and Ryan, it would be immensely appreciated.

2 Comments

Filed under Reflections, Weekend

2 responses to “Bittersweet…

  1. Congrats on your milestone!!!

    I’m so sorry to hear about your friend 😦

  2. Speev

    I wrote you on fb but just wanted to congratulate you AGAIN on making 40! And matt for 50! It’s so true what you said about finally making the change… as someone who has had a flux of 40 lbs in past 7 years, up, down, and back again many times – I’m also so thrilled to be making a change for LIFE. Every time I enter a new “10’s” category… 170, 160, 150, etc… I say GOODBYE to it forever, swearing never to see that # appear on the scale again. It’s cleansing & motivating! Also wanted to say that you are so lucky to have one another in this journey. Like you posted months ago, it definitely helps to have someone living a healthy lifestyle with you. My mom and I keep one another on track through online tools, across the Atlantic Ocean. But believe me, I would LOVE if the person I lived with (be it friend/family/spouse) were traveling this road with me! Count your blessings, girl =)

    Wow…I am so so deeply sorry to hear about the loss of your friend. Definitely sending my thoughts, prayers & strength from Israel… what a terrible tragedy =(

Leave a Reply

