I’m annoyed, look out!

Guys, I’m not going to lie. I’m frustrated and annoyed. Today is one of those days where everything just annoys me. I’m not sure if you’ve ever had one of them, but it’s like even the littlest things can set you off. Between work stuff and my train being late and the weekend being over and working late on Friday night and gaining weight after a week where I consciously ate more fruits and veggies… I’m kind of done.

I know, first world problems over here, but it’s all starting to add up. I try to stay pretty positive when something minor frustrates me, but for some reason this morning is just… I’ve hit a wall I guess. I’m not entirely sure HOW to get out of this little crappy funk, but I’m pretty sure being at work isn’t going to solve that. This is why I hate not having personal days or sick days, but rather just straight up PTO. Because I’m pretty sure I’d have taken a personal day today if I had the choice. Unfortunately I spent PTO on my stupid tooth ache a few weeks ago and I’m now trying to save up my PTO for the holidays. So I basically have to suck it up at this point.

But yeah, back to the weight thing for a moment. I gained what ORIGINALLY was 4 pounds, and I think my head nearly popped off my body in frustration Friday morning seeing that number. After working into Friday evening, Matt and I decided not to go to the cabin (though we’re going in a few weekends instead), so I was able to re-weigh myself Saturday morning. I did not feel okay with having gained 4 pounds, and fortunately Saturday morning brought me down to only a 1 pound weight gain in the week. Still frustrating, but I’m much more apt to believe that I gained a pound of muscle over the week (or at least I can tell myself that). Even then, though, it was frustrating after all of my week’s workouts and making sure I ate a ton of fruits and veggies every day. So I hope it was just a temporary gain and that I’ll go back to losing this week, but who knows?

This whole weight loss thing is tricky. Some weeks you step on the scale and feel great about making progress.. but then you have these weeks where you gain and you feel like crap. It’s helpful to have Matt (and for him to have me) on these weeks of gain, to encourage each other that it’s a temporary thing, that everyone has weeks where they gain weight, but to keep going. It’s my hope that this week is a week of weight loss, but if it’s not I know I have to keep my head up.

I do think I’m going to try a little experiment this week with my caloric intake. On days I workout, I think increasing my calories by 100-200 calories may help weight loss. I remember when I was on Weight Watchers a few years ago, I’d work out and was allowed to eat half of those calories I burned. I noticed that weeks where I didn’t eat the extra calories, I actually lost less weight than I did when I ate some of those calories burned… I think it had something to do with making sure my body didn’t go into starvation mode? Not sure.

So this week will be a little experiment, and I’m not going to freak out if I gain weight. It’ll let me know that I should stick with my normal calories but keep up the work outs.

Writing this all out made me feel a bit less annoyed, and I’m thinking the whole weight thing was on my mind/bothered me more than I wanted to admit. It’s a new week, new experiment, so let’s hope things are better on the weight loss front by this weekend.

3 Comments

Filed under Getting healthy, Weight Loss

3 responses to “I’m annoyed, look out!

  1. I also totally believe that after a certain point, you need to hide the scale and not weight yourself. Just be in your own skin and appreciate, day to day, how it feels to live in your new body without the anxiety of losing it or messing up.

    • I think at some point I will… or maybe not weigh myself once a week but rather every other week.. then eventually once every three weeks, etc. Right now I’ve got a goal of getting to a certain point, (which is only goal number 1 of a long journey), so I’ll probably continue to weigh myself once a week for a bit longer, but slowly phase it out to be less and less. I think it’s just good to know where I’m at, and once I feel good about my body, I will absolutely celebrate.

      But for me, right now, while yes I’m proud of myself, I’ve got a long way to go before I can really celebrate.

      I am, however, celebrating being able to wear some new clothes/old clothes that have been collecting dust because they weren’t fitting any more. 🙂

  2. Jess

    Try a whey shake with flax oil and skim milk right after you lift weights!

Leave a Reply

