Cabin time and wine adventures

This past weekend, we went to one of my favorite places in the world: the cabin. It’s up in the middle of the mountains, right off of Highway 2, and it’s the perfect place to get away, unplug, and spend some quiet time away from the rest of the world. It helps that both the drive up and the drive back are absolutely gorgeous.

We went up with Bruce and Amy, and brought all the pups along. Our dogs absolutely love going to the cabin, as we take them on fun walks to the river trail, where Anya romps around in the water and the sand.

We got up to the cabin late Friday evening, and of course turned on the Christmas tree. Yup, middle of August, and there’s a Christmas tree.. It stays up year-round and makes the cabin cozy no matter what time of year you’re staying there.

Because the cabin is in the middle of nowhere, with spotty reception, it’s nice to be pretty unplugged from things. You tend to end up having fun conversations with everyone and you finally get a chance to relax, read a book, play board games, all while listening to the river. In the winter, when it snows it’s absolutely beautiful, with a nice big fire to keep you warm.

Anyway, Saturday we woke up, and Matt and I made chocolate chip pancakes and bacon for everyone. Not going to lie, they were some of the best pancakes I’ve probably ever made.

After sitting around, talking, and watching The Office, we took the dogs for a nice long walk down to the river trail, and around the area. After Milo got a little tired, I finally let him walk free since I knew he wouldn’t try to run off. (No seriously, one time we thought it’d be okay to let him off and he ran into the woods.. I thought he would just fall into the river and float away. Thankfully he didn’t, but we learned our lesson.)

We got back, relaxed, and let the doggies chill out. They were totally pooped.. especially little Beefcake, who makes the funniest faces ever..

And little Stella got very upset whenever I stopped petting her, as you can see in my little video I took.. She tends to make very sad noises, hahaha.

We played some board games and popped open some wine. Matt and I are trying to get more into wine, and figure out what we like/don’t like. After a few glasses of King Estate’s Pinot Gris (which we had at our wedding and is delish!), we opened a red wine from Baker’s Dozen, a Pinot noir, that was labeled as being “jammy”.

Oh. my. god. It was like time stopped. This stuff was sweet and tasty and um.. I actually found a red wine I enjoy! Problem is, I enjoyed it too much, and before I knew it, I was drunk tweeting the movie Tombstone. I don’t remember much, but Matt thought some of my tweets were hilarious. Just a few for reference:

@jakethegirl yah!! I drank wine and liked it and now I’m watching Tombstone and I want more wine but Matt says njo and I get sad now. Pewwww

People died and looked like ladies. Too basso sad

Mac n cheese with chopsticks would be hard no?

Omg I just ninjaed more winez better drinnj before I get in trouble!!

Slowno death for bill Paxton. Nooooo. The dog is sad

Captian Ron is yelling at the lady in the rain. Why? It’s Always raining in movies when people are sad

Matt toon the wine away but thought u didn’t notice. How can in get it back guys

Wyatt Earp stop being a proud twat goddammit..

Ohh no the guy from titanic died!!! Beautiful face

Goodnight friends Bye bye twitter. I got banned to bed!

Nope, don’t remember 95% of these. Maybe I’ll have a future career in drunk tweeting random movies after nearly 2 bottles of wine? No?

Alas, I was actually banned to bed, after Matt lugged me off, telling me I was too drunk (I’m like dealing with 5 year old who doesn’t want to go to bed). It’s weird how “wine drunk” is very different from “mixed drinks drunk”. What I appreciated was the lack of a hangover the next morning.. And the epic amount of sleep I got.

We got up on Sunday morning and headed home early, after a nice relaxing (maybe TOO relaxing on my part!) weekend. Every time we leave the cabin I get a little sad, but then look forward to our next trip up, away from reality, even just for a few days…

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Travel, Weekend

Leave a Reply

