Lifestyle updates!

I’ve been thinking about my eating habits as of late, really thinking about what most of my meals have been comprised of, and I’ve gotta say, I’m pretty happy with myself. I’ve actually moved onto eating a lot more fruits and vegetables than even before. We’ve also been eating a lot of lean proteins for dinner. Baked fish, salads with chicken, salad wraps, etc. My new favorite thing that I made this week, which I have no idea why I didn’t try out before was a chicken stir fry. We dumped in a ton of broccoli, mushrooms, sugar snap peas, chicken, and Walla Walla sweet onion with teriyaki sauce…

*Speaking of Walla Wallas, guys, if you haven’t tried these you’re missing out. They’re so sweet and delicious that some people eat them like an apple. They don’t have that intense onion taste after you bite into it – you know, the one where it leaves you tasting onion for the rest of the day, no matter what you eat – and are absolutely amazing in any dish.

Anyway, said stir fry was delightful and filling and low-calorie!

Fruits have been a big part of my diet as well. I tend to have some sort of fruit with my breakfast and also a banana after every work out on my train ride home.

Oh and I’ve been on a major salad kick at work. We have this really awesome flatbread place around here that makes a kick-ass Caesar salad for 320 calories (or a wrap for 390!). So good and filling, I thoroughly enjoy it and eat it on a near-daily basis.

On the exercise front, I’ve been hitting up the gym 3-4 times a week. My schedule’s been wonky lately, with lots of random things popping up, but I tend to make it there at LEAST 3 times, if not 4, and I love it. I’ve gotten so much more in shape in just this short amount of time. I’ve also noticed by heart rate has gone down a bit while working out which is good.. Looks like my cardio is starting to improve as well. And I’ve been really pushing myself with weights, working them out and focusing on different parts of my body on different days.

We have our weigh-in on Saturday. It will have been 2 weeks since the last one, so here’s hoping I went down since the last time we weighed ourselves. Even if I’m the same weight, I’ll actually be okay. I’m feeling good, definitely can see the difference, so that’s what matters. I’m also going to start measuring my arms, waist, hips, thighs and bust, because that will also indicate that though my weight might not be dropping as rapidly as it did before, I’m definitely looking more toned and losing fat while building muscle. Plus, my face isn’t as ginormous as it was before, which I, for one, definitely appreciate.

That’s kind of it on the healthy lifestyle front at the moment, though I have some other thoughts I want to discuss, on how hard it can be sometimes to be eating healthier and the reactions you get from those around you. It’s definitely something I didn’t foresee when we made this decision, and it’s not necessarily angering, but more interesting and yes, sometimes frustrating.

2 Comments

Filed under Getting healthy

2 responses to “Lifestyle updates!

  1. I’d love to hear more of your thoughts on the reactions you’re getting with your new lifestyle. I lost about 50 pounds between 2003-2006, and most people have been very kind about it, but every so often, there’s a comment I don’t appreciate.

    Glad to hear you’re doing so well and that the workouts are getting easier. Keep it up!

    • I’m hoping I’ll have time tonight. If not, this weekend I will be working on a post for Monday at the latest. I would love to hear your side of things as well (if you feel comfortable with it)! Funny how you can start to lose weight but it’s not as easy as it might seem… Always little things and experiences that come along with it. 🙂

      Thanks for the encouragement not only to write the best, but also on things going well!

Leave a Reply

