Navigating the World of Clothes!

This is a total “First World Problem” type of post and rant, so reader beware!

Losing weight is great, it really is. I feel better about myself, how I look, how I feel, my ability to not wanting to pass out after a quick jaunt around the neighborhood (though jogging/running still isn’t happening for probably around another 100 pounds, seriously), etc. That being said, clothes-shopping is still a bitch.

I’m still big, so I don’t get to shop at the normal stores. I’m happy to have Lane Bryant and Torrid, but sometimes their clothes are just crazy expensive and I don’t feel it’s necessary to pay $30 for a tank top.

And don’t even get me started on Old Navy (okay, I’ve already started, there’s no stopping me). I used to want to give them infinite amounts of high fives for having cute plus-size clothing in-store that didn’t cost me an arm and a leg. But then, out of nowhere, they apparently felt that having their plus sizes for women in store was just not working (seriously, where did the love go for all the plus-size ladies, Old Navy?), and they made their Women’s Plus section available online-only.

This is infuriating because hi, I’d like actually try this shit on first before I buy it. Okay sure, you give me “free return shipping” but I don’t really have time in my day or my life for that matter to ship it back to you and wait for you to refund my money. Plus, I’d much rather go through the very quick, “Welp, this makes me look 5 times larger than I actually am” deal while in your dressing rooms versus waiting 9 days for my shit to arrive, only to put it on all excitedly and look in the mirror with a sad look on my face of, “Welp, this is terrible and a waste of money and blah.” I can’t even begin to tell you guys how many ugly oversized sweaters and dresses I’ve now donated (with tags) to Value Village or whoever because of this lameness.

Yet I still shop there. Why? Because their pants, for whatever reason, fit me better than any other place I’ve ever shopped. Granted, this may have a lot to do with the fact that because of my size, I’m limited to where I can actually shop, but yeah, Old Navy pants seem to fit me best (with the exception of a few styles that have just been outright way WAY too large and make me look like I’m wearing MC Hammer pants). So curse you, Old Navy, for being the one store that fits me best when it comes to pants. CURSE YOU!

Anyway, enough with the ON rant. Since I’ve start losing weight, things have been fitting obviously either much looser, or items that were really tight before are now fitting normally or even starting to be a bit looser. Problem is, my hips haven’t lost as much as other parts of my body, like my legs, so my pants now fit nicely in the hip area, but are so so SO baggy in the legs. So much so that I feel like a homeless person with MC Hammer pant-syndrome walking around my office. It’s kind of embarrassing, but at the same time I don’t say much since I’m complaining about something good. It’s hard though when you’re still big and inbetween sizes and want nothing more than to just drop enough weight to be able to wear a smaller size.

Every now and then though? I score with a cute outfit and pants that fit me properly:

Shirts have been a slightly different story. I’ve been losing weight more in my upper body, so I’ve actually gone down a size in all of my work shirts. All items from Old Navy have been a size down, which has been great. No problems in this area for the mostpart, it’s the pants situation that has been kind of a bummer.

Quick side story on the shirt side of things: Recently I donated a TON of clothing that no longer fits me (YAY! It usually used to be because it was too small and I lost hope on ever fitting into the items, but now it’s the opposite!), and as I went to put in one of my argyle sweaters that I wore all the time, I kept one of them. I kept it to remind me of how much I’ve lost since I began this journey, especially on days where I’m just feeling extra fat. I throw that bad Larry on, and realize how much progress I’ve made and give myself an epic high five. This sweater, mind you, used to be a little tight on me, and it is now very tent-like on me.

Target has become an option for me to shop at which is really great. Nice alternative to Old Navy when I just don’t like what they have to offer. My major issue with Target is their plus-size stuff, I’d say 90% of it, is really ugly or just not going to work on me for work. That and I’ve had some huge problems with their sweaters pretty much crapping on all other items of clothing in the dryer, causing me to have to pick of little piece of lint. I guess you get what you pay for it, but it’s still frustrating.

Being plus-size and trying to stay on budget when it comes to business casual-type clothing has proven to be pretty difficult. I don’t want to go and spend $100 on clothing only to have it not fit me in a few months… Hence why I’m trying to be frugal when it comes to buying new stuff. If I had a job where I could wear hoodies and jeans and sneakers, no problem, I’d be golden. But unfortunately, that’s not where I’m at right now and so I continue to struggle.

I suppose this is additional motivation so I can have much more of a variety of places to choose from, but it’s going to be awhile before I get there. For now I have to settle for what I’ve got, try to pick out some non-ugly items while not spending an arm and a leg, knowing that I probably won’t be fitting in those items come next year. It’s exciting, but currently? It can be really frustrating.

1 Comment

Filed under Money, Weight Loss

One response to “Navigating the World of Clothes!

  1. I just bought an TON of Old Navy stuff, including pants! I used to not want to shop there but the pants I just got are so awesome, I have to let go of the ON hate.

Leave a Reply

