First year of marriage…

I’ve been married for over a year now. MARRIED. That seems so weird to me sometimes; I’m Matt’s wife, and Matt’s my husband. More often than not, I wonder when the hell I got to be old enough to even be someone’s wife. Or to refer to ourselves as the Magnusons. That’s such a weird feeling. But let me clarify that it’s not a BAD weird, just a weird weird. I think it just makes me feel old. I’m 26, almost 27. Like since when did I hit my late twenties?

Anyway, forgetting the whole feeling old thing, I wanted to write a reflection on my first year of marriage. All things considered, it was a wonderful first year. We learned something new about each other on a daily basis, we laughed a LOT, we had our first Christmas as a married couple (and spoiled the crap out of our dogs/children with plenty of toys, while Matt spoiled me with a brand new iMac that I had no idea I was getting, haha), went on our first big vacation EVER (yay for Disney World honeymoon!), filed taxes jointly for the first time, decided to get healthy (Oh hey what’s up almost 130 pounds lost between the two of us?), AND celebrated 8 years since we had our first date

So much has happened since we got married. Have things been absolutely perfect? No, of course not, but when they’re not perfect, we’ve learned to be there for each other, supporting the other one through thick and thin, and really have listened to each other. Though we’ve been together for 8 years, there’s something about celebrating that first year as being married that just… It’s just a great feeling. If anything, it’s made me look forward so much more to our future years together.

One last thing I wanted to quickly note: I remember wondering at one point, while planning our wedding, whether or not I was more excited for the wedding itself or marriage. It got to a point where I think at times I got so swallowed up by planning that wedding that I forgot about the fact that I was more looking forward to the actual marriage part of things instead of one single day event. Being married is the best part of it all, not the wedding. I loved our wedding, I really did, but I just wanted to be able to call Matt my husband and start this next chapter of our lives.

And now that it’s been a year, I can officially say that marriage is really really awesome and I could not ask for a better husband (or best friend) to hold my hand and be by my side for the rest of my life.

5 Comments

Filed under Marriage, Reflections

5 responses to “First year of marriage…

  1. Awesome!
    It gives me warm fuzzies when I read about people happy with their marriage 🙂
    The best to the both of you in the years to come!!

  2. Pingback: Travel Tales: Paradise Inn, Mount Rainier | A Weighty Mix

  3. Speev

    this post gives me hope, for life, for love… for my future marriage one day! thanks for sharing and wishing you two many, MANY more happy & healthy years together!
    ps: you both look AMAZING in the recent pic! =)

Leave a Reply

